Can love move as fast as technology?


Can love move as fast as technology?

I love Diana Adams. She’s a twitterati. She’s @adamsconsulting on Twitter. She writes for bitrebels.com. She seems to write about everything related to technology, social media, and the internet.

Recently, Diana wrote about PreVue.

Prevue

PreVue is a product concept. It hasn’t been made yet, but maybe some day it will be in the future. It was desgined by Melody Shiue.

As a mom of 8, I don’t think Prevue is a good idea. It might seem like a good idea to new parents, but it opens up a whole can of worms.

The concept of Prevue is to get images of your baby just like you get from ultra sounds or sonograms. But in the comfort of your home. That’s a nice idea. But what if something goes wrong?

Woah!

I imagine me watching my baby grow inside of me and all of a suden the baby stops moving. I’d freak out and be very upset.

Also, if you have other children and they are watching the baby grow too. How do you tell them if some thing goes wrong with the pregnancy? It wouldn’t be easy to explain that their baby brother or sister had died.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

These are the kinds of questions that technology and innovative technology can’t answer. It’s a problem that reminds me of Martin Luther King, Jr.’s warning about technology.

… in spite of these spectacular strides in science and technology, and still unlimited ones to come, something basic is missing. There is a sort of poverty of the spirit which stands in glaring contrast to our scientific and technological abundance. The richer we have become materially, the poorer we have become morally and spiritually. We have learned to fly the air like birds and swim the sea like fish, but we have not learned the simple art of living together as brother

What do you think? Can love move as fast as technology?

Is there technology out there that makes you question it?

Yours truly,

Bonnie Squires
@bonnie67

Would you like to read my other posts?

Are you wonderful people?

I recommend blog posts by my friends. Here’s recent posts that I liked:

When everything feels better. And other social media DOHs! 5 Minute Therapy. by Stan Faryna

How to Tweet to Meet. by Janet Callaway

How To Become A R★ck Star » I’m sorry. by Adrian Klein

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Can love move as fast as technology?”

  1. Janet @ The Natural Networker Says:

    Bonnie, aloha. Like you, I enjoy reading Diana Adams. To me there are numerous challenges inherent with Prevue. That being said, technology is amazing.

    And, technology is not the answer to/for the everything. Just because you can do something, it doesn’t mean it makes sense to do it nor is it an enhancement.

    Bonnie, it gets back to people always need to know why they want to do whatever it is. Technology is a tool and a resource to be used as such; technology is not the controller, we are.

    Love doesn’t even have to move fast. Love is and permeates everything. Love can and does happen far faster than technology. Love can happen in the blink of an eye or with a kiss. Love will still be with us long after the latest technology is on the scrapheap.

    Bonnie, so good to see you back again. Be well, my friend. Aloha. Janet

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Aloha Janet

      You are so true about technology and us being in
      control of it.

      Allot times I think more with my heart as a mom than
      about technology and we being in control.

      I agree with you about love will still be with us long after the latest technology is on the scrapheap.

      Thank you for commenting and having me think from a different point of view.

      Aloha Bonnie Squires

  2. nisha360 Says:

    It’s a good idea in theory but ordinary people are not trained to access an ultrasound so it would be a disaster

  3. Aaron Biebert Says:

    Good thoughts, and I agree that the Prevue concept may be tough to use at home in difficult situations like you described.

    Congrats on the blog, it’s great!

  4. Yvone Schelling Says:

    I must express my admiration for your generosity in support of men and women who absolutely need help with this important study. Your real dedication to passing the message all through had been incredibly helpful and have usually permitted some individuals much like me to arrive at their objectives. Your new invaluable hints and tips signifies a lot to me and additionally to my mates. Thanks a lot; from all of us.

Leave a Reply

