Love is six parts giving and one part talk


Love is six parts giving and one part talk

Rachel Beckwith was nine years old when she died from injuries sustained in a car accident. You can read more about her story here.

Rachel’s fundraiser gathered over $1,186,208 for clean water projects – $1,185,988 after her death. Rachel’s original goal was $300. However, she had only raised $220 when she was alive. Rachel’s story touches my soul. Her story gives me hope about people and especially about children. Rachel’s story reminds us that we are connected at deep levels – that we do care about each other.

But I am also saddened that it takes the heart-breaking death of a nine year old to take us to that depth where we do care for each other. We all need to get to that place in our hearts without great tragedies. This concern brings me to Nisha Varghese.

Nisha is a 20 year old South African woman who was born with Cerebral Palsy. She can’t walk and she only has the use of one arm. But Nisha blogs every day. She’s blogging, most of all, to raise money for clean water projects. I’ve mentioned Nisha before in a previous blog post.

I came to know about Nisha through my friend Stan Faryna. He has donated hundreds of dollars to Nisha’s project. You can see his donations in the list of donations at the bottom of Nisha’s fundraising page. Stan has tweeted about Nisha’s project almost daily for many months and he shared her story with many people. He also encourages Nisha in comments on her blog.

I encourage you to follow Stan’s example. I’m asking you to do ALL three things:

  1. Donate at least $5 to Nisha’s Clean Water Project.
  2. Tweet or post about Nisha’s Water Project once per day for 30 days.
  3. Encourage Nisha with a comment on her blog once per week for four weeks.

You will heal your soul if you do this. You will heal all of our souls if you join me in this campaign of selfless giving and love.

I imagine Rachel looking down from heaven and asking each of us to help Nisha. I imagine Rachel is cheering for Nisha. She’s saying, “Go girl, go. You can make a difference. You can change the world for the better.”

Nisha is a wonderful and kind young lady. She makes me laugh and smile. Her courage to make a difference inspires me. In the face of her physical challenges, she reminds us why we are here and how much we can do. She is a servant leader.

Nisha needs $1,901 to reach her goal of $6,500. Together, we can carry her across the finish line and the extra mile. I have over 6,000 followers on Twitter and over 600 friends on Facebook. If 10 percent of them have a soul and heart, we will directly bring over $3,300 to Nisha’s Clean Water Project. And if 10 percent of the friends and followers of our friends and followers join us, I can see us getting Nisha’s Water Project to $100,000 in no time. That will make a big difference!

Nisha has no idea I’ve written this blog. On Monday, when she comes back online, I would love to see her goal reached. Will you join me?

You can give to Nisha’s Clean Water Project at
http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/nisha-varghese/nishavarghese

You can also find out more about Nisha here.

Janet, Richard, Stacey, Gini, Lisa, Aaron, and Carolyn , please help me to help Nisha. Everyone else too! Please help me to help Nisha!

God Bless us, every one!

Bonnie Squires

Would you like to read my other posts?

1. Love doesn’t have to cost anything

2. Laugh, Love, and Blogging #Triberr

3. Are you wonderful people?

4. Can love move as fast as technology?

5. @bonnie67 has love enough for the whole world

I normally recommend blog posts by my friends. That’s what friends do. But I’m not well. It was difficult for me to make this post. I hope you can forgive me for not making the links. I promise to list your blog posts and links when I am feeling better.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

37 Responses to “Love is six parts giving and one part talk”

  1. bonnie squires Says:

    I’ve kicked this off by giving $9.00
    Lets see this get going and push it
    over the goal.

    Bonnie Squires

  2. Ellen Says:

    Nisha is a wonder! You are right, I should comment on her blog more often, and tell her so.

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hi Ellen

      Thank you so much for commenting and giving to Nisha.
      She going to be so surprised when she comes back online.
      Even if we take make the goal in one day I wont stop passing
      this blog out till we get to her goal or pass it.

      I think we all should read her blogs and other blogs
      and leave comments. It is good to reach out to others
      and help make there day a little better.

  3. Patty Perkowski (@PACWP) Says:

    I would love to add this post to my blog: http://www.spiritual-lives-of-women.com/ as a Righteous Cause, would you mind?

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hi Patty

      I would be honored if you put this on your site.
      Thank you for stopping by my site and reading
      my blog and I do hope you come back again to
      read more.

      Thank you very much
      Bonnie Squires

  4. Stan Faryna Says:

    Per your Twitter request, I have dug deeper and added to my past contribution. Thanks for helping Nisha do amazing things, Bonnie.

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hello Stan

      Thank you for diggings deeper and adding more to Nisha funds.
      We are going to reach her goal I can feel it. Thanks for the support
      and all the amazing things you do.

  5. Adrienne Says:

    Hi Bonnie,

    I saw your request to comment on your post so I’m so glad I came over today. What a heart breaking story and you are right, it’s usually in death that we reach into our pockets and do more good. It would be so much better for us to do that in life so these blessed souls can see the good they are doing.

    I would be more than happy to do all that you suggested so you can definitely count me in. I promise to spread the word and help Nisha reach her goal.

    Thanks again for doing this, you are such a dear for reaching out and helping others. I wish more people would.

    Adrienne

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hi Adriene

      Thank you for coming over and checking out my blog post.
      I just hope you didn’t mind I posted it on your blog.

      But I do agree with you if more people would show interest
      in people while they are here on earth it be so much better.

      Thank you very much for getting the word out about Nisha
      and i hope you get to know her. She a wonderful young girl.

      Bonnie

  6. Aaron Biebert (@Biebert) Says:

    Bonnie, this is great!

    Once I get my foundation set up (see http://8pmwarrior.com/2011/07/5-reasons-to-go-big-or-go-home-when-setting-life-goals/), I’d like to give more to causes like this.

    It’s amazing what people can do when the put their mind to it!

    Keep ’em coming Bonnie!

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hello Aaron

      It is so true what people can do.
      It all ways amazes me what others
      can do.

      Thank you for Rt’ing this blog on twitter

      Bonnie

  7. Day 343 | Adventures of me Says:

    […] my teeth, reply to a few comments on this blog – which by the way are always welcome – read Love is six parts giving and one part talk by Bonnie Squires – she wrote such nice things about me that I’m still not sure that […]

  8. nisha360 Says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words and all you do for me… REALLY appreciate it 🙂

    Yours truly,
    Nisha

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hi Nisha

      You are so welcome. I’m glad to do this for such a
      wonderful young lady who keeps given and given from
      the heart.

      Hugs Bonnie

  9. Carolyn Nicander Mohr Says:

    Thank you so much, Bonnie, for spreading the word and for making sure that others participate in this worthy cause. I am headed over Nisha’s site now to help. Bless you, Bonnie!

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hello Carolyn

      Thank you so much for your donations to Nisha funds.
      I’m going to keep this up till we raise her goal or pass
      it. Thank you so much for help me spread the word.
      She is at 74 percent of her goal now.

      Hugs Bonnie

  10. Stacey Herbert (@mylifestylemax) Says:

    I can’t believe I nearly missed this. Consider me in, I was sharing Nisha’s cause before, but now we have some structure to the way we are going to try and support her, I’m going to do my best. Bonnie you beautiful soul…you rock. This was incredibly well done..and Nisha is blessed to have people like you whole heartedly supporting her. Off to spread the word…this money won’t raise it’s self right!

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hi Stacey

      I can’t believe you all most missed this blog post. lol
      You don’t miss a thing. I’ve been off the last couple day
      of the computer but not off totally. I’ve tweeted this blog
      post and will keep tweeting it till we get to Nisha goal.
      She is a wonderful lady. I don’t know what I do with out
      her a few other people.

      As long as we keep working and posting this link as
      a team I think we will make her goal or pass it in Know
      time. Thank you for reading my blog and posting the link.

      Hugs Bonnie

  11. Denise Sonnenberg Says:

    This is what social media is really about. Sharing the stories and aspirations of others and enlisting people to help. Love it.

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hi Denise

      Thanks for the comment . This is some thing
      I really like to do is help others out. Be nice if
      I could make a living from helping others.

  12. Knikkolette Church (@knikkolette) Says:

    Thanks for sharing this story. I’m sure the goal will be met in no time!

    • bonnie67 Says:

      hi Knikkolette

      Thanks for stopping by my page.
      So far the goal is getting higher.
      Just from posting this blog Nisha
      went up 3 % and now she gone even
      higher.

      She has gotten up to 77 % of her goal.
      I’m not stopping till she reaches her goal.

      I hope to get to know you better
      Bonnie

  13. karlacampos Says:

    This is awesome Bonnie, thank you so much for sharing the story I will be sure to Tweet and go over to Nisha’s page to see how else I can help! Have an awesome day!

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hello Karla

      Thank you so much for reading my blog.
      I’m glad you will rt it thanks so much ever
      little bit helps.
      Have a wonderful day
      Bonnie

  14. Keri Jaehnig (@connectyou) Says:

    Finally I make it here!

    What a wonderful project with terrific results!

    I will share your post and encourage others to participate!! 🙂

    ~Keri

    • bonnie67 Says:

      Hi Keri

      It is so nice to see you here.
      Thanks for taking the time to
      stop by and thank you for reposting
      and helping out with this.

      hugs Bonnie

  15. Jean Kelsey Says:

    What a wonderful gesture you are doing for Nisha! Bonnie you have a heart bigger than the US. God bless you both!

  16. Laura Says:

    Dear Bonnie,
    Your kind heart also shines so brightly throughout this blog.
    It was 18 mths ago when I was first moved by the remarkable Nisha’s story. I continue to spread the word, just like you. Together with Nisha’s determination & dedication her goal will be reached. 🙂
    Great blog post full of kindness, selflessness & strength.
    Kind regards, Laura

  17. Laura Says:

    Dear Bonnie,
    I think you need to add yourself to this list of wonderful people. 🙂
    Your kind heart shines so brightly.
    Regards & best wishes,
    Laura (Melbourne, Australia)
    @laurajteacheroz

    *Someone I found out about in 2007 was Kendall Ciesemier, she started the cause Kids Caring 4 Kids at the age of 11. Just like Nisha, she is a remarkable young lady. I wrote about her a couple of times in my blog ~> http://melbourne3001.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/kendall-is-leading-the-way-other-kids-are-following/

  18. Themelis Cuiper (@Themelis_Cuiper) Says:

    Ctrl + c Ctrl+ v

    bonnie67 @Themelis_Cuiper @SharonHayes @MackCollier @zaibatsu @simchabe Love is six parts giving and one part talk http://t.co/upAHpxGM plz rt

  19. Because Love is bigger than anything else « Bonnie67′s Blog Says:

    […] Bonnie67′s Blog Just another WordPress.com weblog « Love is six parts giving and one part talk […]

  20. I need your Love! « Bonnie67′s Blog Says:

    […] 4. Can love move as fast as technology? 5. @bonnie67 has love enough for the whole world 6. Love is six parts giving and one part talk 7. Because Love is bigger than anything else TweetShareLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  21. Wednesday’s Women: @wordsdonewrite @bonnie67 @girlygrizzly @atugend @careyfuller « The unofficial blog of Stan Faryna Says:

    […] Love is six parts giving and one part talk […]

  22. #DadChat Supported @ShotAtLife and Taught How to Pay It Forward - Postscript by @Faryna | #Dadchat | A Dad's Point Of View | www.BruceSallan.com Says:

    […] Love is six parts giving and one part talk by Bonnie Squires […]

  23. Recap: @TedRubin @annegeddestweet and more on giving at @BruceSallan’s #dadchat « The unofficial blog of Stan Faryna Says:

    […] Love is six parts giving and one part talk by Bonnie Squires […]

Leave a comment